We have received the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2017, 2018 and 2019 and are rated 5 stars by them;, we have scored 10, 9.9 and 9.9 on Booking.com over the past 3 years, and receive wonderful reviews from our guests. Read Trip Advisor Reviews here:

Below are a few examples of guest comments, taken from Trip Advisor and our Guest Book.

20190127_143647a.jpg
20190127_143632.jpg
Guest review on their wedding night
Guest review
Merrybent Hill Guest Review
Merrybent Hill Guest Reviews
Guest Review

"Everybody Needs to go to Merrybent Hill

This was my second visit to Merrybent Hill and I was praising it so much to my boyfriend that I was starting to worry that I was overselling it to him. When we arrived however, I remembered just how amazing it is! It exceeded all my memories and exceeded my boyfriend’s expectations.
Helen and Bob are the most attentive and kind hosts you will meet. You will never want for anything during your stay. My 21st is next week and they even had a birthday card waiting for me with some flowers in our room!
The room is gorgeous: authentic wooden beams, exposed stone fireplace, ginormous comfy bed and a modern bathroom. Incredible views of the landscape with not another building in sight. Aside from the amazing decor, it’s the little things that really make a place. The room comes with amazing complimentary toiletries, not just minis - full size shampoo, shower gel and conditioner, as well as bubble bath, body lotion, cotton pads/buds and even lavender sleep spray. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits are also waiting in the room with a kettle and cafetière, with another stocked fridge downstairs.
The food is incredible too. Chicken dinner was second to none and the breakfast is definitely one of the best I’ve ever had. A beautiful spread of yoghurt, fruit, muesli, homemade compote and juices to start, then your choice of a full English, pancakes or smoked salmon and egg, as well as a tray of pastries! Bob and Helen do breakfast WELL.
Bob will whip you up a walking map for the surrounding area and Helen will bring you scones for when you’re relaxing by the log burner in the afternoon.
My boyfriend and I couldn’t stop saying how blissful we feel at Merrybent, so I recommend it to everyone! Everyone must experience Merrybent.
Thank you Helen and Bob!"

(Date of stay February 2020)

________________________________

"Stunning in Every Way..a A Perfect Stay"

We stayed with Helen and Bob on NYE as an escape from the city and honestly I don't think we could have chosen better. The location is stunning, secluded but accessible. The property is lovely, immaculately clean and done to a brilliantly high standard. The hosts were all you could ask for - warm, welcoming, friendly and highly attentive. The food (we had evening meal and breakfast) was incredible - generous portions of really well cooked food. Their chicken dinner is fantastic! Staying in the Oak room would be my recommendation, it is spacious and has a great ensuite. The West room is much smaller, nice but smaller. The separate bathroom is also done to a high standard but it's worth paying extra to get the Oak room in my opinion!
Thanks Helen and Bob - we couldn't have asked for more"

(Date of Stay New Years Eve 2019)

________________________________

 

Lovely Weekend Stay at Merrybent

My partner and I stayed at Merrybent over the weekend. The room was incredible with a huge bed and lovely decor. The bathroom was also cosy and modern at the same time.
We had dinner and breakfast at Merrybent and I can confidently say that the breakfast was one of the best I’ve had in my life. The roast chicken dinner we had was outstanding as well.
Helen and Bob are two of the kindest people you can meet and the perfect hosts.
All in all this was a great stay and I’d love to come back soon!

(Date of stay February 2020)

 

________________________________

Driving in Slaidburn is beautiful and just puts you at ease for your arrival to Merrybent Hill. Helen is a kind and thoughtful hostess. We were offered tea and hot, fresh scones upon our arrival. We made ourselves comfortable in the large master suite and enjoyed a home-cooked meal of lasagna and sides. The master ensuite bathroom is modern and relaxing! If you want to exist in peace, tranquility and tender care – stay here forever! HA! or AT-LEAST one night!

Read more

(Date of stay: October 2019)

________________________________

 

Absolutely Amazing! Must Visit!!

We have just got home from an fabulous 2 night break at the Merrybent and our experience was beyond amazing. Both Bob and Helen cannot do enough for you. They are a wonderful couple, so welcoming. The food is so good, the rooms are immaculate, the house is immaculate. The area is beautiful, with really good walks. The wildlife is breathtaking. This is the first time we have ever stayed in a B&B as we usually stay in hotels but the personal touches from the hosts made it for us. It is a perfect balance of making sure we were ok and giving us privacy. We stayed in the oak room and wow what a gorgeous room, super king comfy bed, tea and coffee and homemade biscuits in the room. Amazing views from the bedroom and bathroom. The products in the room are so beautiful and there is even a sleep spray left on the pillow to help you sleep. I really cannot stop raving about it to my family.
Overall I would 100% recommend the experience and we will definitely be returning as soon as we can. I even had a tear in my eye when we left because I loved it so much. Thank you so much Bob and Helen for everything !!!!

Read less

(Date of stay: June 2019)

________________________________

 

Superb

A wonderful couple of days exploring (by mtb and foot), around Slaidburn whilst staying at Merrybent. Luxury indeed with every need thoughtfully catered for. Excellent hosts - knowledgeable of the area. Their evening meals are highly recommended too 😍  

Date of stay: October 2018

 

Fanntastic

The hosts were very warm, friendly and interesting. Breakfast was outstanding, huge selection of fruit and pastries with hot breakfast available to order. On the day of check out we went for a walk recommended by the hosts who even provided a map. We came back to collect our bags and despite being well after check-out, we were offered more tea and fresh scones. We can’t recommend this B&B enough, we felt like royalty we were treated so well and it has everything you need whether you’re a couple enjoying a nice weekend away or ramblers needing a good shower, warm bed and a flask of tea.   Date of stay: September 2018

________________________________

 

Fabulous luxury in a beautiful place

If you're looking for somewhere away from it all, with beautiful views, delicious (and very plentiful) food, and delightful and helpful hosts, I could not recommend Merrybent Hill B&B highly enough. Every detail was carefully thought about, and the standard of the accommodation is superb (comfy beds too!). The word 'luxury' is sometimes bandied about a bit too easily, but it is *thoroughly* deserved in this case.   Date of stay: August 2018

________________________________

Fantastic B&B.

My wife and I stayed for one night, just a spur of the moment get away.
This beautiful b&b is situated in an elevated location with jaw dropping views of Lancashire.
On arrival Helen was waiting at the door for us and welcomed us in, Bob her husband also gave us both a warm welcome, we both felt right at home straight away, after a natter we were given coffee in the dinning room and left to admire the views which are to die for.
Helen showed us to our room and around our separate bathroom, we had everything we needed and more.
We had booked an evening meal, I knew we were in good hands when Bob said he worked in catering. We both had the chicken dinner which was a delight and for afters we had chocolate torte, silky smooth and extremely Moorish. I can honestly say it was better than most restaurants that you would pay a lot more for.
After a good night's sleep and an extra hour when the clocks went back......result, we had breakfast, everything from homemade compote which was superb to fresh fruit and cereals, then croissants and Danish pastries brought out on a stand.
Then we both had the full english, and it was fantastic, very well cooked.
This charming place may not be near anywhere but it doesn't need to be because that's what makes it special, two owners that care about their business and more about their clientele makes Merrybent hill one of the best B&B's we've ever stayed in.
Steve & Sher.  Date of stay: October 2018

________________________________

Thoroughly deserves to be titled "luxury"

We stayed for one night in the luxurious Oak room which was very large with a Super King bed and fabulous bathroom. All the essentials plus every possible accessory and facility you could think of - coffee delivered to our room before breakfast - huge choice at breakfast which was beautifully cooked and best of all Helen and Bob are charming friendly hosts for which nothing is too much trouble. The location is stunning with breath taking views over the surrounding moorland. Can highly recommend and we will certainly be back!  Date of stay: October 2018

________________________________

 

Luxury

Advertised as a luxury B & B and lives up to its name and more. Stayed for a couple of nights. Simply could not fault it at all. The attention to detail is fantastic, everything is top of range, the warmth of Bob and Helen genuine, very helpful, easy going, relaxing, excellent breakfast and evening meal, and I mean excellent. Probably the most comfortable stay I have had anywhere in my many years. Location and views are brilliant and with the quality of the rooms and service it can't be beaten. If you want a definition of true excellent customer service, stay here. We will be returning.  Date of stay: September 2018

Guest review
Guest reviews